I HATE this quote…

Sigh. It’s quotes like this one from Kate Moss that helped imprint into my teenage mind that I had to be thinner. I had to take up less space. I needed protruding hip bones, and an impossibly flat stomach. That it wasn’t possible to like myself, let alone love myself, if I was anything but “skinny.”

Magazines reinforced this, with constant body shaming of celebrities who were by no means “fat” or “had let themselves go.” It blows my mind that Bridget Jones was considered overweight, and we were supposed to be wowed that she could have two attractive men interested in her! And don’t get me started on how the media body shamed a young Kate Winslet for being “fat” during the filming of Titanic!

Show me where this fat is please, almighty media?!

Sigh. It is SO WRONG. We are all so much more than the vessel we exist within! You don’t need to starve yourself, skip meals, spend hours on a treadmill because you had a chocolate bar.

You CAN go out for dinner with friends without worrying about the calories. And yes, you CAN wear a bikini, and be naked in front of someone, and wear a figure-hugging outfit. These things are not limited only to people who weigh a set amount, or whose clothes size is less than a specific number / letter.

Because you are beautiful. You deserve to love yourself. And you deserve to look in the mirror and feel proud of and confident in the person looking back at you. ❤️

This tote bag is available in my online store! Jessie’s Art Shop.

You can also search www.jessiesartshop.co.uk to find me 🙂

Published by Jessica Lovell

A 28 year old battling anxiety, panic attacks, PTSD and depression. I have overcome alcoholism, OCD, anorexia, bulimia, self-harm and suicidal ideation, so I know I can beat this too!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started